2021 MSO-sophie-rowell.jpg
All events

Bach and Beamish - Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Season 2021

Sophie Rowell and James Crabb

Due to current health guidelines and capacity limits of no more than 50 people in an indoor seated entertainment venue the performance of Bach and Beamish - Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Season 2021 is no longer going ahead in 2021.

Ticket holders have been contacted. Please communicate with the box office to discuss exchanging your ticket to the September concert of Konstantin Shamray plays Shostakovich or obtaining a refund.

Please email us back on boxoffice@geelongartscentre.org.au and include your booking reference number. Refunds use the credit card that purchased the original tickets.

MSO Concertmaster Sophie Rowell leads the Orchestra through a celebration of the incomparable J.S. Bach and the prolific composer’s influence on music of the present day, with Scottish accordion virtuoso James Crabb as soloist.

  • This coupling of J.S. Bach and English composer Sally Beamish sees James Crabb play the part of continuo, normally reserved for the harpsichord, on the piano accordion. Sophie Rowell play-directs Bach’s Orchestral Suite No.3, lavishly orchestrated for its time, highlighting the composer’s mastery of harmony, rhythm and his sense of fun. This 1730 suite contains one of the most famous and beautiful movements in the entire Bach canon, the Air on the G String.
  • James Crabb has been praised world-over for his versatile musicianship, appearing with the London Philharmonic, BBC Scottish Orchestra and countless contemporary ensembles. Among his various Australian performances, Melbourne audiences will remember Crabb conducting and performing in Victorian Opera’s 2013 production of Maria de Buenos Aires.
  • The peculiar thing about Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No.3 is the lack of a fully developed slow movement. Concerti movements usually follow a fast-slow-fast format, but here Bach differed from the norm, which is how Sally Beamish’s Brandenburg “Slow movement” came to be. Intended to serve as the missing movement in a complete performance, this work was commissioned by the Lautten Compagney Berlin and first performed in 2010.

Program and artists subject to change.


  • Director & Violin Sophie Rowell
  • Accordion James Crabb


  • Bach Orchestral Suite No. 3
  • Sally Beamish Seavaigers
  • Bach Brandenburg Concerto No. 3: Allegro, Adagio
  • Sally Beamish Brandenburg “Slow movement”
  • Bach Brandenburg Concerto No. 3: Allegro

We have implemented a range of health, hygiene and physical distancing measures, in line with government guidelines. These measures include:

  • The wearing of face masks is mandatory across all Geelong Arts Centre venues
  • Hand sanitiser is available at hygiene stations in foyers and outside lifts and stairs
  • Capacity signage throughout venue and studios to promote physical distancing
  • Increased cleaning of all facilities
  • Disinfection of seating and touchpoints before each performance
  • Increased cleaning of foyer spaces and handrails
  • Increased cleaning of bathrooms
  • Sneeze guards at point of sale
  • Foyer seating arranged to ensure 1.5m distancing
  • Decreased capacities in theatres and foyers
  • Staggered audience entry and exit in venues
  • Physical distancing markers at queuing areas such as Food and Beverage outlets and Box Office
  • Staff monitoring traffic flow and distancing


Ticket prices

  • Full Price $94 - $48
  • Concession $89 - $43


Costa Hall - Deakin University Geelong Waterfront


60 minutes, no interval.