2020 Deakin University Theatre Season

The 39 Steps

State Theatre Company South Australia

The 39 Steps

Pulled into a web of intrigue and deceit, Richard Hannay must evade shadowy organisations and femme fatales, corrupt constables and frisky farmers’ wives.

Twisted into knots by skullduggery and suspicion, Hannay must solve the mystery of The 39 Steps and save the motherland before it is too late. Equal parts farce, clowning masterclass and heart-stopping noir, strap yourself in as four actors perform 39 roles in 100 minutes at breakneck hilarity. It’s Hitchcock at top speed. After sell-out performances of Sense and Sensibility in 2018, State Theatre Company of South Australia returns to Geelong with a stellar cast reprised from its hit 2016 production of The 39 Steps.

Warning: Strobe lighting, haze effects, smoke, loud noises.

The 2019 Deakin University Theatre Season is proudly supported by Deakin University.

Thursday 7th November 8pm show includes a post show forum.

Creative Team

  • Adapted By Patrick Barlow
  • Director Corey McMahon
  • Designer Ailsa Paterson
  • Lighting Designer Gavin Norris
  • Composer Stuart Day
  • Cast Includes Charles Mayer, Tim Overton, Nathan Page and Anna Steen


Ticket prices

  • Full Price $59 - $44.25
  • Under 27 $35 - $26.25
  • Under 18 $30 - $22.50


The Playhouse


Approx. 120 minutes, including a 20 minute interval.